Book Club

2017-2018 Book Club Schedule

2017-2018 Book Club Schedule

Tuesday, February 21, 2:45 p.m.
The Cracker Barrel, by Eric Sloane

Tuesday, March 21, 2:45 p.m.
Seeing Trees: Discovering the Extraordinary Secrets of Everyday Trees, by Nancy Ross Hugo (photographs by Robert Llewellyn)

Tuesday, April 18, 2:45 p.m.
How to Read Water: Clues and Patterns from Puddles to the Sea, by Tristan Gooley

Tuesday, May 16, 2:45 p.m.
How Not to Be Eaten: The Insects Fight Back, by Gilbert Waldbauer

Wednesday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.
A Buzz in the Meadow: The Natural History of a French Farm, by David Goulson

Tuesday, July 18, 2:45 p.m.
The Songs of Trees: Stories from Nature’s Great Connectors, by David

August - no meeting

Tuesday, September 19, 2:45 p.m.
The Wilderness Warrior: Theodore Roosevelt and the Crusade for America, by Douglas Brinkley

Tuesday, October 17, 2:45 p.m.
One Wild Bird at a Time: Portraits of Individual Lives, by Bernd Heinrich

Tuesday, November 21, 2:45 p.m.
The End of Nature, by Bill McKibben and/or Coming of Age at the End of Nature: A Generation Faces Living on a Changed Planet, by Julie Dunlap and Susan Cohen, editors

Tuesday, December 20, noon
Potluck luncheon and book selection

_______________________________________

January 2018
Rivers of the Eastern Shore, by Hulbert Footner

February 2018
Thank You for Being Late: An Optimist’s Guide for Thriving in the Age of Accelerations, by Thomas L. Friedman

March 2018
Astoria: Aster and Jefferson’s Lost Pacific Empire, by Peter Stark

April 2018
The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating, by Elisabeth Tova Bailey

__________________________________________

Photo: Arboretum book club members gather in November 2009 to discuss E.O. Wilson's Naturalist. Seated clockwise are Gayle Jayne (back to camera), Margie Steffens, Marilyn Hale, Pat Bowell, Jane Chambers, Lynn Lang, Sylvan Kaufman, Beverly Gemmill, Carol Jelich, Julianna Pax, Zaida Wing, and Walt Gilefski.