Adkins Arboretum Board of Trustees Elects Officers


Queen Anne’s County resident Alicia W. Siegrist has been elected president of the Adkins Arboretum Board of Trustees. Chair of the Department of Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics and Physical Science at Anne Arundel Community College, Siegrist previously served as Board vice president of the 400-acre native garden and preserve located in Caroline County. Luther Tucker, a Talbot County resident and president of the Marcia Brady Tucker Foundation, was elected vice president and president-elect. Margaret Worrall of Dorchester County and Greg Williams of Queen Anne’s County were re-elected as secretary and treasurer, respectively.

The Board also named Dr. Peter Stifel, a Talbot County resident, trustee emeritus. Dr. Stifel, who led the Board as president for the past four years, joins Kathy Carmean of Caroline County among the Arboretum’s trustee emeriti.

The Arboretum is open daily from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Education programs for adults and children about the region’s native flora and fauna are offered year-round.

Adkins Arboretum is a 400-acre native garden and preserve at the headwaters of the Tuckahoe Creek in Caroline County. Open year round, the Arboretum offers educational programs for all ages about nature and gardening. Through its Campaign to Build a Green Legacy, the Arboretum will build a new LEED-certified Arboretum Center and entranceway to broaden educational offerings and research initiatives promoting best practices in conservation and land stewardship. For additional information about Arboretum programs, visit or call 410-634-2847, ext. 0.

Photo: Pictured from left to right are Adkins Arboretum’s new board officers: Margaret Worrall, secretary; Greg Williams, treasurer; Dr. Peter Stifel, newly elected trustee emeritus; Alicia Siegrist, president; and Luther Tucker, vice president.